PLC-F Agenda: Mar. 17, 2011

  1. Revisiting a long lost friend – our rubric tables for PLC-F
  2. Coffeehousing Connections:  ELs, PBL, and IS*
    a.  Leadership, Backwards Design, and April 11
    b.  prework for CFT session June 13-17
  3. Artifact collection and display
    a.  How do we stay mindful of the need to collect artifacts?
    b.  How can we share and not do the work twice?
  4. Reporting Progress and Requesting Support – Blog versus MOODLE

More Theo Jensen:

About boadams1

Learner. Husband. Dad. Chief Learning and Innovation Officer at Mount Vernon Presbyterian School in Atlanta, GA. Have worked in transformation design, educational innovation, and school leadership for 20+ years.
This entry was posted in Agendas PLC-F 10-11 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to PLC-F Agenda: Mar. 17, 2011

  1. Sam Gough says:

    I want to explore how we can make significant changes in our current mathematics curriculum. As we try to teach 21st century skills, are there algebraic skills which become trivial? Can we then help kids develop those skills across all curriculum? Where does PBL fit, and again can that be something kids do across all curriculum?

  2. Danelle Dietrich says:

    I want to work on project based learning; yet this makes me really nervous because I don’t know how to do it. As I age I am becoming more interested in fields outside my own, but for years I only knew my subject and only cared to know it. So, I am extremely limited and unknowledgable about science, English, languages other than English, History, etc. Yet I think our students need to be educated about how to draw from all of these disciplines to solve real problems. I would like to work on finding a PBL idea that we can implement next year. One big question I have. How, logistically can we make this happen; and what do we do about the teachers who have no interest in this. (Forcing it upon them, (The River Project) did not work).

  3. Kristen says:

    I have thought about doing a few things:

    1. Create an online textbook with the Spanish PLT. (or at least get started)
    2. Work with Jill (and others?) to create a blog for ALL subjects.
    3. Work on using Photostory then using YouTube to “teach” new material so that students can learn material outside of class time at their own pace and apply knowledge during class time.
    4. Work on an intervention plan across disciplines. (I have several students this year who are WAY behind in spite of MUCH time with me before and after school several times a week)
    5. Technology swapshop with the goal of creating a product collaboratively that we can all share.

    • Kristen says:

      Also, maybe look at #20minwms Twitter feeds to see if we can find connections.

    • tsadtler says:

      As a way to “dip our feet” in PBL and cross-curricular instruction, perhaps in the process of buiding these [YouTube] lessons, we can add “Did you know…” vignettes that do connect to other disciplines. This would “shrink the change,” as they say, and highlight small ways in which our disciplines connect, and might open our eyes to larger, more sweeping way.

  4. tsadtler says:

    I think that the most likely synthesis with language classes might occur between art and history, and economics. Economics could easily be drawn to the Experienced language level in the 8th grade. Students could (and should) be able to learn about Hispanic artists at all levels. Incorporating history would require that we drop the traditional “vocab in a theme” thing that we do, and actually study events in the world. That’s probably a good thing.

    Jill suggested a toll road calculation card activity that could use some international flair. I’m very interested in that b/c I think the biggest hurdle in this exercise (and it’s true that it exists only in my mind) is the link between the sciences and math. Her idea sounds fun and travel related, so I say go for it!

  5. jgough says:

    The walls between our disciplines exist only in our minds….How can we punch a hole or two in these walls to see into, peer into, crawl into each others’ disciplines to build learning? I don’t know what we have in common. But wouldn’t it be interesting to find it? Isn’t this what we want and expect from our students? Shouldn’t we model this with and for them?

    Can we pick a topic – a relevant topic – that exists for us and find the math, science, English, history, Spanish? Or should we look for how to find ways to problem-solve, think critically, think creatively? Should we try to walk in each others’ shoes? What if I tried to find the history, Spanish, or English? What if I tried to find the things I’m not an expert in?

    What if we worked on essential learnings that are child-specific rather than course-specific? What would those be? Can we build it together?
    I vote for learner-specific ELs rather than discipline-specific ELs. We have 170+ days to teach our discipline…let’s find common ground on leading learning.

  6. Jennifer Lalley says:

    I really have no idea. First things that come to mind are PLC History ideas—working on World Cultures online text, US History resources for next year…but thinking cross-curricularly…
    I want to do something that connects English and history, but it feels impossible. What if World Cultures and 6th grade English had a common read? That is my go to instinct, but maybe I need to go outside of what feels natural and most comfortable for me.
    All of these topics Thad suggested are appealing to me…
    Exploring Racial Identity
    Project-based Learning
    PLC/Critical Friends
    Global citizenship
    Maybe I need to choose people first…

Leave a Reply

