PLC-F Agenda: April 28, 2011

  1. PLC Summer Institutes through the CFT:  Register through the CFT
  2. PLC/PLT Course Feedback
    a.  Review “work-in-progress” survey
    b.  Continue to develop a common assessment to collect PLC/PLT course feedback
    ___________________________________________________
  3. Lesson Study – PBL
    a.  Can we develop a common lesson plan to promote/discuss PBL in our teams?
    b.  Can we have an instructional round or peer visits as facilitators of our common lesson?
About boadams1

Learner. Husband. Dad. Chief Learning and Innovation Officer at Mount Vernon Presbyterian School in Atlanta, GA. Have worked in transformation design, educational innovation, and school leadership for 20+ years.
This entry was posted in Agendas PLC-F 10-11 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to PLC-F Agenda: April 28, 2011

  1. Kristen says:

    Ha! We brought up PBL in the PLT today and it opened up a whole can of worms! 🙂

  2. Kristen says:

    As for common lesson plan, I am going to give a practice test the week before the final test, so maybe a common lesson for people who are giving a practice test could be how to differentiate learning (leveling, intervention, enrichment) between the practice test and the final test? Just a thought. I’m trying to think of ideas that will fit with what we are already doing since we are in the home stretch.

  3. Mecia Israel says:

    I would like to develop a common lesson plan to promote & discuss PBL in our teams. This type of discussion helps me with language to use in PLT, especially when there is such great concern for content coverage. I hope I don’t miss the “Work in progess” survey with my 7:15 tardiness. : (

  4. Kristen says:

    I also like the sound of Mecia’s proposal.

  5. tsadtler says:

    Survey comments:
    Jill reviewed our previous work on the PLC survey (with some revisions by Bo).
    Numbering is not making sense (#7 is followed by 2a and 2b.
    Questions seem much easier to read.
    Page 3: Essential Learnings: why does it say “individual reflection and response”
    Page 4: Assessment: Let’s reduce the eduspeak and steer toward more common language.
    Rearrange prompts to make it more chronological: assessment, analysis, and intervention. Then Instr. Rounds and Lesson Study.
    For #11, we may need to be a bit more specific in our language. Precise language might not capture what all we mean from “designing and implementing assessment for student learning.”
    Cannot change these prompts too much; it will affect our ability to compare last year’s results to this years.
    Jill does not get paid enough, so says Fred.
    Discussed the difference between Lesson Study and Instructional Rounds.
    #21. Evidence of student learning: Are we interested more in having evidence or in improved student learning?
    We need to come back to #21.
    #25. Morale and passion should be separated. External factors may affect one, but not the other.
    Are general comments vs. specific comments in the morale/passion redundant?
    Going back to #21, are we really talking about teacher confidence that our students are learning more effectively?
    Back to #25. Passion vs. enthusiasm.

  6. jgough says:

    Page 4 Assessment
    Why does it have “Individual Reflection and Response” The others do not.

    Wordy… Re write in talking language

    Rearrange the prompts to put assessment, analysis of student work, and intervention together. Then have IR and LS.

    Use assessment for student learning.

    Because I am working in a plt/plc, I have more knowledge and skill for designing assessment and using assessment for student learning.

    Page 5 Lesson Study

    As a result of practicing lesson study, I have grown in my ability to design lesson and facilitate learning. (for SPLT yes, we mean teach.)

    Page 6 Instructional Rounds
    As a result of practicing instructional rounds, I have grown in my ability to design lesson and facilitate learning. (for SPLT yes, we mean teach.)

    Page 7 Analysis of Student Work
    Because I am working in a plt/plc, I am more accurately assessing student learning – I have a more detailed understanding about what my students know and what they still have to learn.

    Page 8 Intervention
    Because I am working in a plt/plc, I am more knowledgeable and skilled at intervening when students need additional support for learning.

    Page 9 Evidence of student learning
    Because I am working in a plt/plc, I have more evidence of student learning.
    Coming back to this

    Page 10
    Morale and passion are two different questions. Should morale be in this question? Maybe have 2 questions?
    Because I am working in a plt/plc, my passion/enthusiasm for teaching has increased.
    Because I am working in a plt/plc, my morale for teaching has increased.
    My morale…the group’s morale

  7. Danelle Dietrich says:

    As was discussed in our meeting, I am in favor of the morale and passion question to be two separate questions. I think the moral question should be two parts: my morale is better and I sense the morale of the group is better.

Leave a Reply

