PLC-F CFT SI: Day 1 Exit Card

1. I came expecting…

2. I have gotten…

3. I still (now)  need…

About boadams1

Learner. Husband. Dad. Chief Learning and Innovation Officer at Mount Vernon Presbyterian School in Atlanta, GA. Have worked in transformation design, educational innovation, and school leadership for 20+ years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to PLC-F CFT SI: Day 1 Exit Card

  1. Jen Harper says:

    I came expecting…Ideas about how to facilitate a PLC (what has worked in the past, what hasn’t, pitfalls to avoid, how to overcome challenges, etc)
    I have gotten…A good working framework for Day 1 of PLC, ideas for how to team build/create norms/formative assessment
    I still need….clarification on terms like “Instructional Rounds” and “Smart Goals”. I still need to develop a goal for the PLC (what have been some goals that were reached/not reached and why questions for people that have done PLC). I would like more clarification on how to assess a PLC

    • boadams1 says:

      Jen, thank you for asking these questions about Instructional Rounds and SMART Goals. “Questions are the waypoints on the path of wisdom” (Grant Lichtman), but we need folks to ask questions when they have them.

  2. LeslieAnn says:

    I came expecting grounded, practical ideas for implementation next fall.

    I have gotten just that and in short order. Thank you! The mix of clarification and inspiration has been incisive and mind broadening. I have some better understanding and concrete ideas for planning purposes. Even if all those ideas for fall change, I feel better for having been in the room!

    I still need time to lay out a skeletal plan with Lauren, especially if I am flying solo this fall.

  3. Anna Major says:

    1. I came not really not knowing what to expect since I am new to the PLC world. I was expecting to gain information on how to facilitate a PLC, and I was expecting it to be collaborative–both of these were definitely carried out. I also came expecting to get some practical ideas for how best to start the whole process of what exactly we should be doing in our PLC.
    2. I have gotten lots of great tools and ideas that I can use to get started on planning my work for the PLC this year. I have also picked up a lot of great information about what exactly a PLC is and what the primary focuses should be. I also have picked up on a lot of the essential terminology used in the PLC world. It has been great to get some concrete examples of how to get the ball going and begin to have a plan laid out for the first few days.
    3. I still need instruction on how to go about establishing some of the tools we discussed today. For example, how do we go about writing, formatting our essential learnings, goals, etc.

    • boadams1 says:

      Anna, THANK YOU for asking your question today about Instructional Rounds. Also, Ted and Kristen can be great resources for you about writing, formatting ELs and goals. They led superb work with the JH Spanish PLT in 10-11 on those fronts.

  4. jgough says:

    I came expecting to build a stronger bond in our team while developing a clearer common understanding of our purpose and focus for our work.

    I have gotten that and so much more. I enjoyed how we learned more about each other as we worked together. I am pleased with our team’s norms, and I am impressed with how quickly they were developed. I love beginning to develop a game plan for our work. I feel that we are several steps ahead of where we usually are in the fall, and we have planned collaboratively!

    I still need MORE: more time to work with my team, more good strategies for working collaboratively, more common assessment, more common ground and learning, more, more, more.

  5. tsadtler says:

    1. I came expecting… a bit of team building (since we’ll be working together next year), a bit of review about PLC’s and specifically the role of this PLC, and a bit of “orienting” for what I want to accomplish in my PLC.

    2. I have gotten… all of the above, except that the orienting was very specific (day one ideas). I’ve also gotten some good ideas on how to draw out good thinking from our “students” (the PLT members), ways in which to get them up and moving (we spend most of our time sitting and talking last year), great modifications to how we did some things last year, and I got time to reflect on how some things I did last year could and should be tweaked.

    3. I still (now) need… some guidance on lesson study. Since we’re building the Spanish 2 Intro curriculum, we are ripe for lesson study. I would like someone to walk me through one full cycle of lesson study. Also, as we build assessments I would also like some guidance in what kinds of assignments make for the best/most effective analysis. I’m not even sure that there’s an answer to that one.

    • boadams1 says:

      A. Two resources: Gamestorming is a book and website that Jill and I used to prep for PBL and PLC workshops. Also, we use David Sibbet’s book and blog Visual Meetings. The book Gamestorming is on iPad Kindle, and it is great in that format!

      B. Basics of lesson study: 1) plan a lesson like you have for years…but do it IN TEAM! Try backwards design of what you want students to learn and how you plan to get there. 2) visit each other as the lesson is implemented. 3) debrief the lesson IN TEAM – what seemed to work, what didn’t, how do you know? 4) reprise lesson like a second chance at Marshmallow Challenge

      C. Any assignment can carry with it a rubric that has levels. These levels can transfer to assessment measures for debriefing what students know and need to work on.

  6. boadams1 says:

    I came to the CFT SI for PLC-F expecting…a workshop to collaborate on improving in PLC principles and practices. Particularly, I came expecting that we would share and exchange to grow as facilitators of PLC work, specifically at Westminster. I came expecting people to engage fully and completely because we all want to get better at this…ultimately for the children we serve, but also for the mutual community of learners of which we are a part. Also, I came expecting to progressively build GAME PLANS for 11-12 PLC/PLT work…to get ahead of the curve for the upcoming school year.

    I have gotten a sense of how to better differentiate when some arrive late (all pre-informed that they would be…casting no stones here!). As a team, after lunch, we shifted activities to “catch up” people who had not been with us since 10:00. For me, I learned a lot about use of artifacts to aid catch-up and differentiation and participants being the teachers – reviewing what we did and learned to newcomers. Also, I have gotten a feeling and vision that the GAME PLANS are helping people get ready for the upcoming year…in a common way.

    I still need a better, on-the-fly way to assess “how people are doing.” Is the pace good for folks? Are they getting what they wanted to get from this workshop? Do they feel it is worth the time and effort? Is it helping them get prepared for better facilitation in 11-12?

  7. mrslaurendavis says:

    I came expecting to be tired from thinking hard by the end of the day, and that has happened. I love it when that happens. I expected for the workshop to be “run” ( Bo and Jill, pardon my word choice – I know you’d hate to think of yourselves as “running” our time together.) in a way that would have me rushing to record the order in which we tried certain new activities. ( I like to be able to think about this later…) There are always cool new ways of doing things with this group, and it always manages to work out that at least some small part of my brain is spinning its wheels about how I can use the methods/activities with adult-learners and with child-learners in my own unique way.

    So, I have gotten lots of ideas for bonding with my Enlish PLC. I have gotten a bit more sad about not being here to see it all play out in the fall, but I’m trying not to dwell on that. I have gotten some clarification on the ELs of a functioning PLC. I have gained more insight into why I enjoy this work so much. I love affinity mapping and have thought of so many ways to use it in the PLC and in my classes with students.

    I still need time to sit with LAL and work on our game plan for a span of time. I would love for the various PLCs to share their plans and get feedback from the group. I also would like to think together more about formative assessment since LAL and I have sort of earmarked that as a driving focus for our 2011-2012 English PLC work.

    • boadams1 says:

      LD,

      One reason you are such a great educator – you think out loud about how to take what you are learning and seeing and how to apply it to a new situation. Metacognition at its finest! Also, your suggestion about the GAME PLAN review has just cause Jill and me to change the lesson plan for Thursday! Thank you!

  8. Sam Gough says:

    I came expecting to review the concept of a PLC, ways to start a PLC and activities to use with my group. As we review the concepts, getting a better understanding of EL, assessment and what to do with that assessment should occur. I was also expecting to work with my co-facilitator

    I have gotten a great review of how to get a PLC started as well as the beginning of a game plan for the first 3 day. I also had an opportunity to work with my co-facilitator and am hopeful we can establish a positive working relationship.

    I still need more on how to get the group to write good EL, to collaborate on assessments, reflect on results and then what to do with the results. I also want help in how to effectively divide the time between PLC and PLT so that the PLT does not become a glorified planning period.

  9. Fred Young says:

    1. I came expecting to be better grounded in understanding and using PLC terminology by learning from my fellow facilitators. Danelle, Mecia, and Leslie Ann did a great job in giving us what some people call a “spin-up” brief to catch up on what we had missed during the earlier session(s) today. The PLC paradigm is not easy to assimilate and today helped. I am looking forward to tomorrow’s session as well as facilitator meetings this coming year to make us smarter (could that be a SMART goal?) in what we are all doing to enhance student learning.

    2. I have gotten some good ideas from reading the posted sticky notes dealing with the challenges, disappointments, and encouragements of fellow facilitators. Jennifer and I have been dreading setting the norms for our expanded PLC next year. Danelle pointed out that her PLC will do this the second week of school next year. She suggested that not tackling this issue head on as the first thing on her group’s agenda may well make it easier for them to agree on norms after a week of collaboration on other matters.

    3. I still need oral and visual reinforcement of vocabulary and procedures (oops, I mean process) in PLC-Land.
    One thing from this past year was blindingly clear-Doing a PLC right takes time and patience. If this makes me sound like I am still a beginner and ought to be further along–too bad! ‘Cause that’s how it is. Now if only Jennifer would talk more slowly . . . .

    • boadams1 says:

      Fred, let’s keep thinking together about the norm-setting timing and process. That’s so important. Also, you are right that PLC takes time and consistent diligence. Thanks for modeling that.

  10. Jennifer Lalley says:

    1. I came expecting…to review course feedback, to have a hard time focusing after a long morning.

    2. I have gotten…energized for the coming year through interacting, journaling, planning , and great ideas from colleagues. Some great PLC instruction ideas. Thanks for keeping us engaged and moving!

    3. I still need…to plan the first week in HIstory PLC. We need to think through how to be strategic with the plc cynics in our group. The first week will be key.I also understand every term in plc-lingo re: Lauren’s glossary idea!

  11. boadams1 says:

    The pre-planning that you and Fred can do this week will be instrumental in helping you pre-load your approach to the first few weeks…as well as the skeptics. Illigitimi non carborundum.

Leave a Reply

