PLC-F Agenda: Jan. 26, 2012

We made solid progress last week fleshing out our common lesson.  This week we will dig in as participants to “do” part 2 of the lesson.  Once we’ve experienced part 2, we will circle back to parts 1 and 2 to review and refine the lesson as “the teacher.”

SMART Goal:  The PLC members will grow in understanding/proficiency for Project-based Learning and Balanced Assessment by engaging in regular lesson study aimed at achieving these objectives in the Learning for Life vision statement.

CHALLENGE: Collaboratively build an ORGANIZED PBL resource to be used as a “PBL menu of exploration” for our PLC lesson study (STEP 2 of 12-1-11 Challenge). [See 12-8-11 agenda and comments.]

  1. Review the PLC-F chart paper & Google Doc that contains our developing lesson plan for PBL. Flesh out the common lesson plan on Google Doc by utilizing the resources we are gathering and the pedagogy we are designing.
  2. Organize the “PBL menu of exploration” resources to align with the developing lesson plan – so that the asset we can use with the PLCs is built and complete!
About Jill Gough

Learner, Love Questions, Problem-finding, Math w/technology. Interests: Collaborating, PLC, Formative assmt
This entry was posted in Agendas PLC-F 11-12, PBL Design and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to PLC-F Agenda: Jan. 26, 2012

  1. boadams1 says:

    To practice part II of our PBL lesson study, I watched the BIE/Common Craft video on PBL. This is a video that I have debated often with others. For purposes of this exercise:
    * I like…the explanation that most people live in a world of projects. This resonates with me every time when I think of us preparing children for “real life.” I like that a point is made about reducing the amount of sit-n-get memorization…I like that kids are DOING more actively. I like that the teacher started with a question (a need to know), “Why do more people get sick in winter?” I like that various student teams produced different products that were shared with an authentic audience of elem students, parents, and community members.

    * I wonder… if the teacher had to assign grades to these projects. If so, how did the teacher do this? What skills and outcomes were formally assessed?

    * I want to know more about…the possibilities for student-adult collaboration. Could these students blog and broadcast so that community experts on epidemiology and contagious disease could give students feedback and more advanced instruction?

  2. boadams1 says:

    To practice part II of our PBL lesson study, I also watched the HTH video on What PBL Isn’t. For purposes of this exercise:

    * I liked…the direct and honest comparison of PBL to “POL” (project-oriented learning). I liked the cart-horse metaphor and drawing. I liked the examples of POL from my own childhood and teaching…like sugar-cube models and Libery Bell mock-ups.

    * I wonder…if this video will make people mad or cause them to ponder and consider.

    * I would like to know more about…how POL and PBL may exist on a spectrum, like Bloom’s taxonomy. Perhaps there is room for both. I am writing about this on my own blog and pondering. Personally, though, I want to do more myself with true, deep PBL.

Leave a Reply

