PLC-F Agenda: Apr. 19, 2012

How will we utilize the PLC feedback survey for collecting data in 2011-12?  Continue to design and development the 2011-12 PLC survey.

  1. REVIEW: Editing/revising in chunks (completed on 04/12/12)
  2. Designing prompts for SMART Goal – PBL concentrated work
    1. Brainstorm possible prompts in comments for this post.
    2. Collaboratively build common assessment items for PBL and SMART Goal.

Resources:

  1. 2011-12 PLC Assessment DRAFT
  2. 2o10-11 PLC survey prompts
  3. 2010-11 PLC survey data
About boadams1

Learner. Husband. Dad. Chief Learning and Innovation Officer at Mount Vernon Presbyterian School in Atlanta, GA. Have worked in transformation design, educational innovation, and school leadership for 20+ years.
This entry was posted in Agendas PLC-F 11-12, Data-Collection and Feedback and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to PLC-F Agenda: Apr. 19, 2012

  1. Mecia Israel says:

    PBL prompts

    Because I am working in a PLT/PLC, I have more knowledge and skills for designing and using PBL for student learning.

    As a result of practicing PBL in PLC, I have grown in my ability to facilitate PBL.

  2. Danelle Dietrich says:

    As a result of working in a PLC/PLT, I have a better understanding of PBL.
    As a result of working in a PLC/PLT, my ability to design more PBL-esque lessons has improved.
    As a result of working in a PLC/PLT, I have carried out, or will carry out, some form of PBL this year, with my 11-14 year-olds.
    As a result of working in a PLC/PLT, I have plans to implement specific PBL(s), with my 11-14 year-olds, in the fall of 2012.

  3. I am equipped to implement PBL in my courses along with my team
    I can explain PBL to a new faculty member
    Because of my work in a PLC/PLT, I am motivated to implement PBL in my courses next year.

  4. leslieannl says:

    As a result of working in a PLC/PLT, I have a better understanding of the seven essentials of PBL.

  5. boadams1 says:

    a. From the lesson study on PBL, I learned a lot about project-based learning by watching videos that explained or demonstrated PBL.
    b. From the lesson study on PBL, I learned a lot about project-based learning by reading/discussing the article 7 Essentials of Project-Based Learning.
    c. From the lesson study on PBL, I learned a lot about project-based learning by participating in the brainstorming (e.g., Lino-It) and brainwriting activities about PBL.

  6. tsadtler says:

    As a result of my work in a PLC/PLT, I am comfortable with the varying degrees of PBL (so-called “lowercase pbl” versus “uppercase PBL.”
    As a result of my work in a PLC/PLT, I can cite examples of PBL either on Westminster campus or in other schools.
    As a result of my work in a PLC/PLT, I am committed to implementing PBL during the 2012-2013 academic year.

  7. Sam says:

    As I have learned about PBL in my PLC this year, I now believe that PBL is a valuable and useful method of learning for my students.

  8. jplgough says:

    As a result of working in a PLC/PLT, my team has plans to implement specific PBL(s), with our 11-14 year-olds, between now and December of 2012.

    Our SMART goal is about both Project-based Learning and Balanced Assessment. Do we feel that we have covered balanced assessment in the planned assessment questions?

  9. Lauren Davis says:

    As a result of working in a PLT/PLC:

    I can better understand the benefits of PBL
    I can better design PBL
    I can better implement PBL

    (whatever the prompt, I think we need a multi-tiered section…)

  10. professeurb2 says:

    I think that this survey is becoming a little too long and we are trying to use it for too many different purposes at this point (PR/statistics, formative assessment, feedback on PLCs, PBL, etc.). I am in favor of keeping it as short as possible. However, given that our PLC SMART goal this year is PBL, I do feel like this needs to be at the “heart” of our survey. I wonder if we want to start the survey with PBL prompts so that we get more thorough answers while people are “fresh.” I feel like they are going to peter out by the end of the survey because of the length. As for prompst, I like both Mecia’s and Danelle’s suggestions.

  11. boadams1 says:

    — Increased knowledge
    — Specifics of how knowledge increased
    — Feel equipped
    — Level of buy-in/commitment?

  12. Mecia Israel says:

    Science/ Math PLC: May 1

Leave a Reply

